User Tools

Site Tools


Action unknown: copypageplugin__copy
howtos:jirafeau:how_to_share_a_file_with_a_giraffe

How to Share a File with a Giraffe

Introduction

Whenever people convene, they may wish to exchange written information or even multimedia. While this can be done by e-mail, it is awkward and poses a significant load to the email system. On the other hand, the participants of the event are unlikely to have access to a shared drive, as it usually that requires registration with username and password.

This is where the Giraffe comes in:

Jirafeau is free/libre and open-source software (FLOSS) that allows convenient file sharing among non-privileged users, means: people with no dedicated access to any central file sharing server. You may wish to know that the Jirefeau instance we use is hosted on a dedicated DPPI-owned and controlled server.

Here is how it works:


How to Use Jirafeau

First, go and pay a visit to DPPI's Giraffe:

We do not want the entire Internet to access this platform, even though uploaded files are encrypted and self-destroy after one (1) month. Therefore, you will be given a simple password during the next virtual meeting.

Enter this password and press Login:

Next, you will see a screen that invites you to select a file for upload:

Click on the + icon and select a file from your workstation:

Next, you will see the upload confirmation screen, where you have the option to encrypt the file you want to upload with a password of your choice. This is not normally required, but if you do so, you will have to share your chosen password with your team so that they can access the file.

Click Send, and after a short while that is needed to do the actual upload, you will see:

This is where you manage the shared file handling as follows:

Link Name Redirects to Note
Download page File download page
View link File viewing page
Direct download link Direct file download Without opening any browser page
Delete link File delete link Only required, if you erroneously uploaded a file, as files are removed automatically after 1 month

Click the clipboard icon to copy the desired link, and paste it into your browser.

Once you close the above window, management access to the uploaded file is lost!

For instance, when copy/pasting the Download page, you will get:

Check out the other links to see what they are doing!

Enjoy the tool and contact the Webmaster in case of any questions!

howtos/jirafeau/how_to_share_a_file_with_a_giraffe.txt · Last modified: by 127.0.0.1